THE IMMORTALS OF MELUHA by AMISH(book review)

May 26, 2010 § 25 Comments

THE IMMORTALS OF MELUHA

image from here.

WHEN EVIL REACHES EPIC PROPORTIONS, WHEN ALL SEEMS LOST, WHEN IT APPEARS THAT YOUR ENEMIES HAVE TRIUMPHED,  A HERO WILL EMERGE.

I picked up this book more out of curiosity than anything else.  For one Landmark had it at every nook and turn and for another, the price was within my budget. And I wasn’t disappointed.

Being a person who loves history and mythology, I expected a lot of serious revelations with the inevitable dark music( maybe even Thandavam accompanying it?) and an air of mystery. But while there are a lot of revelations, the book is written in a simple and elegant style. And I say this about the book because I don’t remember reading it- I felt the book.

The book is about Shiva, The Neelakanta. It is about the Suryavanshis and the Chandravanshis. It is about ancient India. It is history. It is Mythology. Things which most of us have grown up with. And a book, with all of it, delightful! It takes one heck of a story teller, to mix it all up, without being a bore.

Shiva, is supposed to be the saviour(as per a legend),  he is a Rudra. It is his duty, to destroy “evil”. A bit of love, a bit of science, a bit of this and that, the book  is beautifully woven. As I usually do, I am not going to give out anything from the story(if the story can be said in 10 lines, then why should the author take the effort?) , but I can tell you, that this a worthy pick.

And I learnt a lot through this book as well. I realized a few obvious things. I recognized a few old things, which had faded away. It has also inspired me in a certain way.

Hope the books which are to follow are as good or better than this 🙂 Especially am curious to see how the author defines “evil”(this book ends with that question).

Rating:- 10/10 ( you probably guessed this by now 🙂 )

P.S:- Follow the author on twitter – @amisht

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 25 Responses to THE IMMORTALS OF MELUHA by AMISH(book review)

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading THE IMMORTALS OF MELUHA by AMISH(book review) at the light shines the brightest.

meta