Bookin’ it

May 23, 2011 § 8 Comments

I love reading. Bur very rarely do I keep a tab of the books I have read over a period of time. But a tweet by qtfan on twitter prompted me to make a list. Well without further ado, here is the list:-

1)The Catcher in the Rye by J.D.Salinger – A light and thoroughly enjoyable read. Narrated by Holden Caulfield, the book is about a guy who keeps getting kicked out of school. I guess the book captures the mood of that generation.

2)Catch 22 by Joseph Heller- Possibly pointless, but isn’t war pointless anyway? It makes a point by being pointless, Catch 22.

3) Trapped wings, Open sky by Nisha Arppit – Received for review but did not publish the review. Still laying in my drafts, did not enjoy the book.

4) The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga- Overrated.

5)Demian by Hermann Hesse – Review. I love Hermann Hesse’s writing.

6)Steppenwolf by Hermann Hesse – Tale of a lonely middle-aged man, who opens himself up to new ideas. A bit of a drag, but meaningful and probably a Roman a clef of the author.

7)Hickory Dickory Shock by Sundip Gorai- Review. The author spammed my comment section because of the review had to delete the comments.

8)Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi- Review.

9)Fate, Fraud and a Friday Wedding by Bhavna Rai – Review.

10)1984 by George Orwell- Review

11)The Metamorphoses by Kafka – Weird, deep and very depressing.

12) The Old Man And The Sea by Ernst Hemingway Engaging, Simple and Beautiful.

13)Aunts Aren’t Gentlemen by P.G.Wodehouse – You should have read the book already.

14) Mayil Will Not Be Quiet by Niveditha Subramaniam and Sowmya Rajendran – Review by sister on bookrack. Oh! and Sowmya is none other than Gounder Brownie 😀

15&16)  I read the entire Hitchhiker’s Guide in one go. So probably, I read the last book or two in early January. Now that I look back, think it was the last two books.

So well that’s 16 books which I remember reading. Then there is “The Brothers Karamazov” By Dostoevsky, which I never seem able to finish. I do pick up random books laying about the house, read a few pages and drop it.   Generally I tend not to read while travelling, as I prefer to observe what is happening around me. Right now, I am reading Overland by Mark Stephen Levy. I also have Stilettos by Rashmi Kumar waiting to be read next. While Overland was sent by the publishers, Rashmi sent me the book personally for review.

I generally don’t like to set targets. After all, I read to learn, understand and appreciate the world. To me each book is a journey. I let the book set the pace. For example, the books by Hermann Hesse are slow-moving and spiritual whereas Chanakya’s Chant is fast and thrilling. Of the list I would suggest you read 1984 first, if you haven’t already.

So what have you read this year?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Bookin’ it

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bookin’ it at the light shines the brightest.

meta

