Tagged!!

November 24, 2010 § 7 Comments

Judy tagged me(about one eon ago) to write about “Fifteen authors, poets included, who’ve influenced you and will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes.” And yesterday(wait that was Saturday) Poonam tagged me to do the same..so, here goes πŸ™‚

1) Paulo Coelho – I have read almost all his books! The alchemist was the first one. I read it when I was around 13 or 14 years and it changed the way I saw everything around me!

2) Khalil Gibran – There is something amazing about Gibran. You have to read it to understand.

3) Shelley – For obvious reasons. In a way he inspired me start writing poetry. The guy was a bit of nutter, but, aren’t we all?

4) Jules Verne – I’m no Sci-fi fan. But love this guys writing. The first one I read was Around The World in 80 Days, think I was 12 or 13 then, still remember the rush I felt while reading.

5) Mark Twain – Just read The Prince And The Pauper and The adventures of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. This guy is bloody brilliant and clever. Tried reading a couple of Dickens, but never took to him. But this guy is another thing.

6) Agatha Christie – Obviously! Think I have read all of Poirot’s adventures. Murder in the Orient Express of course was special. Love the way ‘grey cells’ work!

7) JK Rowling – Pity I seem to suck at those Harry Potter kweezzzs.. but anyway, the books were awesome. Albeit I felt the final one was written with the movie in mind, but never mind, I forgot why I felt like that. Maybe should reread them.

8) Enid Blyton- I grew up reading Blyton. The Famous Five, The secret Seven, Five Find outers and Dog etc. Fatty, is one of my all time favourite fictional characters.

9) Ayn Rand – I was 16 when I read her. The change she caused was immense. My school librarian recommended and I decided to give it a shot- And it was amazing! Of course, some parts in her books are very rhetoric, but what she was trying to do was trying to drive a nail into a very thick tree.

10) Orhan Pamuk – There is something that makes you feel peaceful and silent and just watch.

11) Salman Rushdie – Over time, I haver to like this mad man. It took me a while to realize the influence his books can have. Trying to get hold of Satanic Verses(it is banned in India, I think).

12) Hermann Hesse – Siddhartha. Had a very big effect on me. Thought me a few important things- like slowing down. Could identify with the protagonist a lot!

13) Vikram Seth – An Equal Music! More than The Suitable boy, it is An Equal Music, which influenced me. Got me interested in Western Classical Music among other things.

14)Amitav Ghosh :- There is something about this guy. Glass Palace, Sea of Poppies, Calcutta Chromosome, Countdown etc..but to me The Hungry Tide is his best! Still remember the way he introduces Piya.

15) Khaled Hosseini :- Weep my child for there is a reason to cry. Laugh my child for their reason to rejoice. – That’s what comes to my mind. Really painful, especially Thousand Splendid Suns.

Right, so I thought of these people in less than 15 minutes(actually in a couple of minutes). There are of course, so many more authors who I like. These authors have surely influenced me. I do tend to stick to authors. If I like a person’s style, I try to finish as many as I can. Grisham, Forsyth, Earl Stanley Gardner etc aren’t part of the list because some how they never influenced the way I think and write.

Right now reading The Rise Of the Sword by Priya K. Its actually quite nice. Hopefully I finish it within the week.

§ 7 Responses to Tagged!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tagged!! at the light shines the brightest.

meta

