English is dead

June 26, 2009 § 16 Comments

So MJ is dead . The whole world is moaning for the “king of pop” .

Wait a second , a few hours back , the entire world was talking about Iran and whatever was happening over there . Indian news channels were telecasting “shootout at Lalgarh ” . As they say people’s memory is short – maybe too short , they seem to forget everything the second they read the obituary .

But something which will surely be dissected in the next few days would be the removal of the tenth standard board exams . My personal opinion – good riddance . But one thing that shouldn’t happen is Quota’s in school – that will kill any sort of unity in the country ( as far as I am aware , school is the place where the discrimination isn’t seen and the kids sing the national anthem with gusto and pride). All those who claim that these exams prepare kids for the big bad bad world are in my view are either “tuition” teachers or want their 15 minutes of fame . I have written the exam and it has in no way prepared me for the big bad bad world .

One thing that would happen is that the tuition(private coaching) centers and teachers might run out of business . Now at last kids(from certain schools) might see something called a sports field ( in my school we were allowed to play and even go for cultural events in 12th πŸ™‚ ) and not be told that – “playing is not going to get you marks” , “if you are so good at football go and join a sports school”(cricket is accepted , it means the very teacher who says these things can come on national television and praise the kid and the school etc) .

but as I said the dreaded reservations should not be enforced here as well , it would spoil and corrupt the integrity of our ” unified nation ” . On unity , the C.M. of Meghalaya claims that he has been “racially discriminated” in India . Well my friends and family who live in North tell me that all South Indians are called “Madrasis” , so I don’t get it why he should feel hurt if we were to mistake people from his state for a person from some other state . But well no ever seems to appreciate being an Indian . Everyone is so so bothered about the dieing identity of their community that no one cares about the “Indian” .

Its been a while since I right clicked so many times on a word to correct my spelling , this can be attributed to the fact that no ones seems to be able to “talk in English” – the reason for it being in quotes is because you might soon see me writing in tamil over here( all the best for deciphering what I am coming to say , what with my wonderful spellings et al. ) . And when a few try to speak in English , my ears ( tuned to the tortured English in my school) can’t handle a language being murdered . No I am not some sort of “peteru”(read fellow who is yaxpart yat it) in English or something , but when I join an institution which claims that its vernacular English , I expect at least some good English to be spoken some where .

As my Sanskrit master said with valor and tenacity and rather biosteriously ” English in dead ” . Someone heal the world .

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to English is dead

  • Smitha says:

    Yes, news , or rather ‘breaking news’ changes rather quickly doesn’t it , these days.

    I feel rather good about 10th boards being removed too.. And you are right, quotas are just going to increase the divide- rather than reduce it. The best thing would be to have good quality free, government schools where every child can be assured of getting good education – without spending a penny. I think that would make much more sense than quotas. Despite that, I still feel that the education ministry is thinking in the right direction. I am glad that they are coming up with sensible plans and I certainly hope that they follow through with it.

  • Xylene says:

    Getting rid of 10th board exam !
    Well Kapil got all the tv attention he wanted. Now to make things work would be the actual task he needs to do.

  • Shivya says:

    The media seems to be occupying a large part of our rants lately, no?

    Oh yes, I’m looking forward to the education reforms. Atleast that one was well covered by Indian news channels.

  • Reema says:

    Hmm I don’t quite agree that is a good thing to remove the exams.

  • Indyeah says:

    The school I was teaching in earlier ..there we had no exams till class 8th…..
    exams can be done away with provided there is a comprehensive all round assessment plan in place…in the school I was working in they had this…..we had all round assessment for students…and no final or unit or half yearly exams as such…

    I love PBL learning the best!
    Project Based learning…

    the media’s job is to catch breaking news as it happens..of course they go overboard so for the next week at least be assured that MJ and his life will be dissected to bits..

    Vichu I agree with the Meghalya CM’s words…coz we Indians are racist and we do discriminate….

    what I don’t understand is why other people are so cynical about being an Indian…
    would they rather have a separate state… sorry ….country?

    These are people who have never faced discrimination int heir lives, are relatively;y well to do…are educated and STILL spout nonsense!!

    How many would understand your concept of Indianess Vichu? 😦

    As my Sanskrit master said with valor and tenacity and rather boisterously ” English in dead ” . Someone heal the world

    ah! Vichu’s sarcasm? πŸ˜€
    good one! πŸ˜€

  • Harsh says:

    class X boards …

    I personally don’t favor the omission of class X board !!! I mean its just like you give your internal exams , only the evaluator is someone external …. you get to know where you stand …. something which you can’t assess via internal assessment ……

  • pj says:

    a sad news indeed…
    hah!

    well am selfish in tat case..wen we had to face it y not they πŸ˜›

  • Aneev Davis says:

    Ah, I’m afraid you’re right about the death of English, in South India at least. My head now aches when the folk at my college try to frame more than a few sentences in English.

    And I hope the King of Pop rests in peace…

  • Nita says:

    When this news was dominated by MJ, that is exactly what I thought. Where’s Iran?????

  • Aaarti says:

    Strange world we live in!!! πŸ™‚

  • chewmysambhar says:

    Pple actually tease me if I manage to complete a sentence in english at col.. Madras tamizhla taan my pozappu is being ootified. See How well I ve morphed english? πŸ™‚

  • @smita: lets hope this is for the best ..

    @xylene: lol , ya πŸ™‚

    @shiyva: ya , it was well covered πŸ™‚

    @reema: why mam?

    @indyeah: yes , we are racist – you cannot be discriminated unless you yourself choose to be..and in our case , guess it is a way to satisfy our guilt..

    More like Montessori system is it?

    @harsh: well ask the kids who get literally tortured and ask them if they want to know where they stand πŸ™‚

    @pj: lol πŸ˜›

    @aneev: ha ha which college?

    @Nita: where ever it is on them map πŸ™‚

    @aaarti: yup πŸ˜‰

    @chewmysambar: lol , chennai senthamil πŸ™‚

  • Ajai says:

    Nice post. I agree that standards in english have dropped considerably. I have had class mates writing theorems and proofs in hi-fi english, and on the other hand they are not able to construct one sentence in english properly. This is what happens when we depend on rote over application in our examination system.

  • Ann Dee says:

    Nice post….

    English truly is dying and I guess it is the flexibility the language offers that is spelling doom. I myself mess so much with the language while blogging… The read actually made me feel little guilty.

  • @ajai: absolutely πŸ™‚

    @ann dee: ya guess its its flexibility πŸ™‚

  • leafless says:

    Actually, English is never a good language in the first place. It is awkward and incomplete. French is a lot better.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading English is dead at the light shines the brightest.

meta

