Omkar Chakraborti (11/7/1991 to 3/9/2013)

September 4, 2013 § 4 Comments

To a friend who was and now in our hearts will be.

There were days when we spoke for hours over the phone about everything either of us could think of. There were days when you made my day out of nothing and put up with all the endless nonsense, the endless barrage of wish-wash and mish-mash which I came up with. You were a friend, like none other.

That bright smile and that big booming  laugh of yours will stay with me forever. Through much you smiled and laughed and gave me belief like no one else. Your believed in what I did and we both held on to hope, someday, sometime. I always dreamed of a day when we both would catch over a coffee or a drink and laugh at our silliness and how we made it the way we dreamt. Yet that remains a dream, the time and the distance have now become permanent and there is a void, a void which I know none can fill.

I don’t know what happened, but whatever did, to me Omkar will always be that boy, that guy who laughed and told me, “Vichu, please da, you know how people are.”

And what we shared, I would like to believe was more than what even death, distances and years can undo. It has been over a year since I spoke to you and a headline is rather a punitive way for me to learn what happened. Maybe I am a bad friend and nothing will ever assuage the pain. I should have been there for you, but circumstances are their own masters, unless tamed by things beyond their petty threads, and words are just that.

Your smile and laughter were infectious, and to the future, I shall carry that, for not even our dreams were as big as that.

You were a person beyond your years, one conscious of your identity, patriotic and mad about making this world a better place. Your passion and energy were inspiring and will remind me of what still needs to be done.

If tomorrow is a morning, then we shall all smile for you, because you reminded us time and again, that within us there is something better and that we can.

I will miss you Omkar.

P.S:- I am going to yell and scream at you in my dreams tonight, like never before.

 

Headline- http://m.timesofindia.com/city/mumbai/MBA-student-jumps-off-college-building-dies/articleshow/22272405.cms

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Omkar Chakraborti (11/7/1991 to 3/9/2013)

  • Srini says:

    Touching tribute, and friends like that are hard to find.

    Having said that, it is ironic how death often reminds us of the best in people, just as impending finales and separations make us rush madly to save whatever we can of our relationships.

    I didn’t know Omkar, but I ache for him (for the moments/weeks/months that led to the decision) and his family.

  • asoulbared says:

    Very sorry to hear about your friend. Having experienced depression on several occasions, I can only say one thing. Another life has been wasted. Unfortunate and unnecessary.

  • sanjay says:

    …can’t leave much here except my tears for Omkar and his family!

  • Anu says:

    Am devastated, knew him in his growing years as a child. My heart goes out to his parents….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Omkar Chakraborti (11/7/1991 to 3/9/2013) at the light shines the brightest.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,534 other followers

